sewing without a pattern

i’m good at following directions, maybe thats why it was fairly easy for me to learn to sew. but there comes a time when you’ve gained enough knowledge and its time to venture out and explore your own creativity:) so i attempted to do just that. this summer i fell in love with this style dress (i know, summer is almost over for most of you, but it still feels like the dead of summer here). i set aside some fabric i wanted to use and just stared at the pile EVERY time i went to sew. literally, it had been sitting there for at least 2 months.

so once i realized that football season has indeed begun, i reminded myself that it just means more late night sewing parties:) so in leui of watching the football game on saturday, i made this…

from start.to.finsih. without help! honestly, i pretty convinced it wasn’t going to turn out like i envisioned, but to my surprise, its pretty darn close:) i wish the elastic was a little higher, but nonetheless, i LOVE it. if only i had thought to take picture through the process:( i’m learning… maybe with round number two… oh there will be a a round number two for sure:)

7 Comments

Filed under sewing

7 responses to “sewing without a pattern

  1. It is GORGEOUS my friend!!!! As is the model! GREAT job! I love it!

  2. Wow, my friend. It looks amazing!

  3. Heather

    I am so in awe of your talent. Seriously u amaze me! I looove it!

  4. martha harrell

    you are so passing my sewing talents.

  5. Leslie

    Everything you create is just gorgeous!
    Congratulations! You are one of the winners of my sewing pattern giveaway sponsored by Sew Mama Sew. Feel free to select any pattern from my shop; let me know which one you would like, and I’ll email it to you.
    Happy sewing!

  6. cute cute cute!!
    I didn’t know you had a blog – I’m so glad to know! I love to see your craftiness šŸ™‚
    Also – What kind of fabric is the top half of that? Is it a knit like a t-shirt?
    So cute!

Leave a Reply

